MTB trip to UP... need advice

Where to ask questions on riding skills, training, nutrition, and bike repair

MTB trip to UP... need advice

Postby Davemtbkayak » June 15th, 2013, 10:39 pm

Hi guys. I've got an 8 night trip planned to the UP this August w/ the focus on mtn biking but I'll be doing a lot of hiking and a little kayaking as well. I'll be staying in 3 locations and taking side trips from there: Munising, Silver City (Porcupine Mtns) and Copper Harbor. Right now I have 3 main trails planned: Marquette South Trails, Houghton Trails and CH trails. I think there is some easy ridding through the Porcupine Mtns that I may do as well.

Any and all suggestions, tips, or advice for the trails and/or other trails I should hit would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to MI and I'm doing the trip solo (well... my 3 dogs are going along as well.... great hiking partners!). :mrgreen:

Thanks everyone! Happy Trails!

Dave
Davemtbkayak

Re: MTB trip to UP... need advice

Postby TheyCallMeBruce » June 16th, 2013, 8:20 am

You should consider hitting up the Michigan Tech trails while you're in Houghton as well as the trails on the Hancock side (Maasto Hiihto and Churning Rapids). Other than that, sounds like you're hitting the best of the UP trails. There are other worthy trails, but you can probably spend a couple days each at those three and not get bored. Bring bug repellant!
TheyCallMeBruce

Postby selma757575 » June 16th, 2013, 4:16 pm

Swede town is also right there!
selma757575

Postby jfactor! » June 17th, 2013, 7:18 am

There's a new flow trail in the Maasto Hiihto/Churning Rapids system that I'm dying to check out.
jfactor!

Postby bleve » June 18th, 2013, 1:21 am