Calling all Gurus I have a HR question

Where to ask questions on riding skills, training, nutrition, and bike repair

Calling all Gurus I have a HR question

Postby Phattmatt » June 12th, 2013, 10:42 am

I've been riding for a few years (throat clear) and I've never been able to get my HR above 165 w/o almost passing out and seeing spots even back in the day when I was competitive. My resting rate is about 43 an average riding rate is 140-145 at most trails including Highland. I'm curious why I max out so early. I know a lower rate equals efficiency, it just seems that I should be able to get it higher.

BTW I'm 44 and 195lbs.

I'd enjoy hearing your opinion.
“I’d rather remember my old playmates as they were. Neat, clean little packages.” –Dexter
Phattmatt

Re: Calling all Gurus I have a HR question

Postby Nooge » June 12th, 2013, 11:24 am

Everyone has a different max HR. Pay no attention to how yours compares to others. As you get older your will decreas a bit.

Max HR is almost meaningless. What you really want to know is what your Lactic acid Threshold Heart Rate (LTHR) is and the difference between that and your max HR. LTHR tells you how hard you can push over the long term and is used to calculate how hard to exert yourself without over doing it or taking it too easy. The difference between LTHR and max HR tells you how fit you are. A very fit person have their LTHR only 5 or 10 beats per minute lower than their max HR. This means she can go close to her fastest short term pace for long periods of time, which is ideal.

So knowing max HR is only indirectly useful. Knowing LTHR is much more useful. Comparing either to others is meaningless. The only important comparison is how far is your LTHR below your max HR. That is a good measurement of fitness.
Nooge

Postby bikerector » June 12th, 2013, 11:34 am

Not much to add, Nooge hit it on the money.