"popping" rear cogset

Where to ask questions on riding skills, training, nutrition, and bike repair

"popping" rear cogset

Postby bbender785 » May 23rd, 2013, 1:23 pm

so the bike i've been riding since 1998 has had this issue since i bought it new, and i've just never done anything about it. has a 7-speed rear cogset with a shimano STX derailleur, and whenever it is in the 6th or 7th gear the drivetrain "pops" under heavy torque. i've had the bike LBS-tuned multiple times over the years and have tried to trail-adjust it many a time as well, with no improvement.

is this a derailleur issue or something in the casette do you think? i'd love to get this bike in running order so i can maybe sell it, or have it for friends to ride.
AIRBORNE Guardian
bbender785

Re: "popping" rear cogset

Postby plunderspunk » May 23rd, 2013, 5:57 pm

I would check to see if the teeth on the 6 and 7 gear are worn.
A.K.A. Geardaddy
plunderspunk

Postby Critter7r » May 23rd, 2013, 7:08 pm

Have you ever put a new cassette on it? Chain?

I assume that since it's done it since new that the chain isn't skipping, but maybe the 6&7 sprocket don't mesh well with the splines. If you've put a new cassette on it and it still does it, then it must be either inside the freewheel, or the splines are jacked.
<> Chris <>
I live in Holly & ride my '02 FSR 26'er '09 Trek Fuel 26'er at Holdridge.
Critter7r

Postby Bikelaura » May 23rd, 2013, 11:08 pm

Have you adjusted the B screw to increase the chain wrap? Some older frames have the derailleur mount too far aft of the axle to allow for enough chain wrap and then that leads to the symtoms you describe. One easy solution is to not climb in that gear. ;-) Hope this helps.
Bikelaura

Postby scat silvurz » May 23rd, 2013, 11:46 pm

worn out....you just got used to how sucky it is.
Five fingers, three chords, and one *beep*.....!
scat silvurz

Postby bikerector » May 24th, 2013, 8:29 am