New Cannondale F5 Issues - DISAPPOINTED

Everything related to mountain biking that's not covered in the forums below

New Cannondale F5 Issues - DISAPPOINTED

Postby Katoom » August 3rd, 2010, 7:06 pm

I'm just getting into mountain biking. After a lot of research I narrowed it down to a couple of bikes and went with a Cannondale F5. Had to order the bike from my local bike shop. When it finally came in I was anxious to hit the trail but had to wait for the weekend.

Well, on my first ride the chain tangled in the frame and sprocket (sprocke guard) when I tried to shift the front sprockets. What a disappointment (but more disappointment to come). Needless to say it's hard to ride when you can't use all the gears plus it chewed all the paint of the frame there.

I took the bike back to the shop the next day. The put it on a stand and right away said the chain was too long. They said they'd have to talk to the genearl manager and the Cannondale Rep and call me back. Well, I heard back today. The guy acted like he was hero because they put a new chain on the bike. I asked about the frame where the chain ate it & if that was acceptable to them. He says that's normal offroad use and chain slap! WHAT?!? *beep*

I explained that was not acceptable for me. He says there's nothing they can do and I will have to talk to the general manager.

So far I am really disgusted with my local bike shop and Cannondale. I understand that every bike can have issues but how you deal with those issues is what's important to me...And this sucks so far! I'm let thinking I should have went w/the Trek 6000 that was 2nd on my list.
Katoom

Re: New Cannondale F5 Issues - DISAPPOINTED

Postby volklgirl » August 3rd, 2010, 7:24 pm

Sounds like your shop totally dropped the ball. Chain length and shifting performance should have been checked by the shop during the assembly process......this is not a problem with the bike or manufacturer, it is a problem with the builder/seller.